November 29, 2007

Venable Partners Chuck Morton and Ronnie Reno Honored by Maryland Daily Record for Leadership in Law

2 min

Venable Partners Chuck Morton and Russell Reno were among two dozen Maryland attorneys and judges recognized by the Maryland Daily Record earlier this month for their contributions to the legal profession, efforts to improve their communities and commitment to mentoring.

Morton was recognized for his counsel to entrepreneurial technology companies and investors across the state, and helping shape the Maryland business community through his involvement on the Boards of TEDCO and the Maryland Chamber of Commerce. In addition to his involvement in the business community, Morton received recognition for his service to the next generation of Maryland entrepreneurs. He teaches an undergraduate course in entrepreneurship at Johns Hopkins University and was instrumental in the development of the Greater Baltimore Technology Council's "Mosh Pit" business plan competition.

The Daily Record called Reno "One of the top real estate lawyers" in Maryland. Over the course of his 42-year career at Venable, Reno has played a crucial role in countless Baltimore-area development projects and the revitalization of Baltimore City, including securing the original financing for the Inner Harbor. Reno is the author of two-volume real estate form book that has become the standard for Maryland's real estate lawyers and has served as the model for similar guides in other states. In addition to his mastery of Maryland real estate law, Reno has mastered the practice of law and is considered a role model for new and experienced attorneys alike, demonstrating that even in today's highly confrontational legal environment, the practice of law can be conducted in a civil manner.

The pair join a distinguished list of Venable attorneys who have received Leadership in Law recognition for the Daily Record over the seven-year history of the award. Previous award winners from Venable include: James Archibald, Warren Hamel, Todd Horn, Mitchell Mirviss, James Shea, Kevin Shepherd, and Craig Thompson.