May 01, 2020

Governor Northam Taps Broad Group of Leaders for COVID-19 Business Task Force

2 min

Governor Ralph Northam has announced that a diverse group of leaders are participating in the Commonwealth's COVID-19 Business Task Force. The task force will continue to advise the Cabinet on a safe, responsible strategy for easing restrictions on businesses and individuals.

The task force consists of representatives from a variety of Virginia industries, scales, geographies, and backgrounds across the Commonwealth, including restaurants, breweries, wineries, small and large retailers, fitness centers, hair salons, barber shops, spas and estheticians, museums, hospitality groups, campgrounds, and entertainment venues.

Members of Virginia's COVID-19 Business Task Force are listed below.

Virginia's COVID-19 Business Task Force
  • Chad Ballard, Cherrystone Campground, Cape Charles
  • Katy Brown, Barter Theatre, Abingdon
  • Josh Chapman, Black Narrows Brewing, Chincoteague
  • Christy Coleman, Jamestown Yorktown Foundation, Williamsburg
  • Jenny Crittenden, Gloucester Main Street Preservation Trust, Gloucester
  • Patrick Crute, Virginia Alliance of YMCAs, Statewide
  • David Foster, High Point Barber Shop, Richmond
  • Angelyn Glasgow, Nu Image Salon, Blackstone
  • George Hodson, Veritas Vineyard, Afton
  • Lester Johnson, Mama J's Restaurant, Richmond
  • Kevin Liu, Carytown Cupcakes, Jasper, and the Tin Pan, Richmond
  • Franky Marchard, Volvo, Dublin
  • Owen Matthews, Kings Dominion, Doswell
  • Bill Meyer, Meyer Fitness, Norfolk
  • Brian Moore, Amazon, Arlington/Alexandria
  • Brooke Mueller, Walmart, Statewide
  • Jon Norton, Great American Restaurants, Arlington/Fairfax
  • Alex Nyerges, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, Richmond
  • Chris Ray, Center of the Universe Brewing, Ashland
  • F. Dee Suarez-Diaz, ReNuew Wellness Spa LLC, Manassas
  • Warren Thompson, Thompson Hospitality, Reston
  • Bruce Thompson, Gold Key PHR, Virginia Beach
  • Laura Todd, Institute of Advanced Medical Aesthetics, Ashland
  • Terri Vander Vennet, Hampton Coliseum, Hampton

In addition to the task force, Governor Northam and his administration have continued to consult with numerous businesses and labor, public health, and trade and professional organizations.

The task force staff includes Deputy Secretaries of Commerce and Trade Angela Navarro and Cassidy Rasnick; Deputy Secretary of Health and Human Resources Gena Berger; Chief Workforce Adviser Dr. Megan Healy; Chief Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer Dr. Janice Underwood; along with key staff from the Virginia Department of Health, the Virginia Tourism Corporation, and the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development.

For questions or comments, contact:

Claude E. Bailey
Tel: 202.344.8057